WEBINAR

ASIAJURIS WEBINAR

COVID-19 Legal Drive

International Treaties and Contracts in Asia – Roles of Lawyers to Upheave the Effects of COVID-19 to Global Firms, and Opportunities Created for Foreign Investors in Thailand.

The COVID-19 pandemic may have started off as a health crisis but it has also caused significant economic disruption around the world, forcing governments worldwide to act decisively and quickly.

Investment policy is a significant component of the COVID-19 response as this global crisis is strongly affecting foreign investment.  Many countries, including Thailand, adopted various measures for economic recovery and to enhance trade and investment competitiveness in their countries.

Join us on our next Asiajuris webinar, as our distinguished speaker will discuss roles of the lawyers in addressing Foreign Direct Investment and Opportunities to Asian Countries post COVID-19 world.

 

Speaker:

Dr Vilawan Mangklatanakul

Dr. Vilawan Mangklatanakul
Director - General - Department of Treaties and Legal Affairs
Ministry of Foreign Affairs - Thailand

Dr. Vilawan represented the Royal Thai Government in a variety of international meetings including at the Senior Official Meetings for regional cooperation frameworks such as the Ayeyawady-Chao Phraya-Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy (ACMECS) and Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC), as well as the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL).

Throughout her career, Dr. Vilawan has acted as a lead legal negotiator in free trade and international investment agreements and provided legal advice to the Royal Thai Government in international dispute settlement proceedings. She was an acting associate judge at the Central Intellectual Property and International Trade Court for five years, and lectures extensively on international law, international trade, investment treaties, dispute settlement mechanisms, and arbitration at various legal education institutes.

Dr. Vilawan holds the degrees of Bachelor of Laws from Thammasat University; Master of Laws (International Business Law) from the Queen Mary College, University of London; and Doctor of Philosophy in Law from the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, University of London.

  • September 21, 2020 (Monday)
  • 16:00 (GMT +7) Bangkok, Thailand
  • 13:00 United Arab Emirates
  • 14:30 India
  • 16:00 Indonesia / Vietnam
  • 17:00 Hong Kong / China / Philippines / Singapore
  • 18:00 South Korea / Japan

Be a part of this significant event and discover post COVID-19 investment opportunities to Asian countries and the world! Register today!